MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Tuesday, 11 July 2017 at 2.00 pm

### **Council Members Present**

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Ken Ellcome (in the Chair)

### Councillors

Dave Ashmore Leo Madden Simon Bosher Hugh Mason Lee Mason Jennie Brent Stephen Morgan Ryan Brent Yahiya Chowdhury Gemma New Alicia Denny Robert New Ben Dowling Steve Pitt John Ferrett Will Purvis Jim Fleming **Darren Sanders David Fuller** Lynne Stagg Colin Galloway Luke Stubbs Paul Godier Julie Bird Scott Harris Linda Symes **David Tompkins** Steve Hastings

Hannah Hockaday Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE

Suzy Horton Matthew Winnington

Lee Hunt Neill Young
Frank Jonas BEM Rob Wood
Donna Jones Tom Wood

Ian Lyon

## 45. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Steve Wemyss. Councillor Stuart Potter sent apologies that he would be late. Councillor David Fuller apologised for having to leave early.

The Lord Mayor gave detailed information concerning filming in the chamber, advising that notices had been displayed on the walls concerning the council's rules which strictly prohibit the filming, photographing or recording of members of the public unless they are addressing the meeting and only then if they do not actively object. Filming from gallery to gallery is also prohibited. The Lord Mayor then gave details of the evacuation procedure and reminded everyone that there are building evacuation signs displayed both inside the public galleries and in the chamber itself.

### 46. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24

The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations relating to the business on the agenda of the extraordinary meeting.

# 47. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Alex Bentley

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Alex Bentley as an honorary alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Stephen Morgan Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Alex Bentley, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

The seconder of the motion gave a short speech in support, as did the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Alex Bentley and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

The meeting concluded at 2.10 pm.
Lord Mayor